Squarespace alternatives — 12 builders compared on price, renewal and domain
Squarespace's pricing page prints one rate and no second one: the renewal is uncomputable from the page, which is why its row below reads “not disclosed” in the renewal column. That is not a gap in the table — it is the row. Around it sit the builders a reader would actually be choosing between, on the same four columns.
- 12
- builders compared
- 7
- publish a renewal rate
- 5
- print the renewal in advance
- 9
- include a free first-year domain
How to read the table
| Builder | Entry price | Renewal price | Renewal step | Domain, year 1 | Renewal printed in advance? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SquarespaceFluid Engineno renewal rate publishedThe builder you are leaving | $19.00/mo (Basic) / HK$129/mo (geo-served Asia) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| GoDaddyAiro Website Builderno renewal rate published | $9.99/mo (billed annually) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| WebflowVisual Designerflat rate — no step | $15.00/mo (Basic, billed yearly) / $25.00/mo (Premium, billed yearly) | $15.00/mo (Basic) / $25.00/mo (Premium) | 1× | Not included | Printed on the pricing page |
| ShopifyShopify Storefrontintro step, not disclosed | $1.00/mo (first 3 months promo) | $25.00/mo (annual) / $33.00/mo (monthly) | 33× | Not included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| CarrdPro Standardflat rate — no step | $19.00/year (Pro Standard — 3 custom domain sites) | $19.00/year | 1× | Not included | Printed on the pricing page |
| TypedreamNotion-Style Site Builderflat rate — no step | $15.00/mo (Launch annual — $180/yr) | $15.00/mo (annual) / $20.00/mo (monthly) | 1× | Included | Printed on the pricing page |
| OlittPro Website Builderno renewal rate published | $10.00/year (Hobby — 1 site) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| HostingerAI Builderstep, but unclear where | $2.99/mo — 48-month prepay | $10.99/mo | 3.68× | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| WixAriaintro step, disclosed | $14.5/mo (promo) | $29/mo | 2× | Included | Printed on the pricing page |
| IONOSMyWebsite Nowintro step, disclosed | $6/mo (12-mo term) | $14/mo | 2.33× | Included | Printed on the pricing page |
| FramerAI Site Builderintro step, not disclosed | $10/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| WordPress.comHostingintro step, not disclosed | $4/mo (1-yr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
Entry price is the rate the vendor prints for a new subscription — on an annual plan that is the monthly rate billed yearly. Renewal price is the vendor's own second number, and where the vendor prints none the cell says so. The step is the ratio between the two, printed only where both numbers were published. Domain is whether the entry plan carries a free domain for the first year. The last column is whether the vendor states the renewal on its own pricing page, before you buy.
How these rows were chosen
Our comparison set covers 51 builders whose pricing pages we read. These rows are the ones a reader leaving Squarespace is choosing between: the incumbents sold to the same buyer, the visual builders sold to the same buyer, and the ones whose renewal step is worth reading before you sign. Each name links to the full comparison we published for that builder.
Every builder in the table
- Squarespace
Fluid Engine
Read the full comparison
- GoDaddy
Airo Website Builder
Read the full comparison
- Webflow
Visual Designer
Read the full comparison
- Shopify
Shopify Storefront
Read the full comparison
- Carrd
Pro Standard
Read the full comparison
- Typedream
Notion-Style Site Builder
Read the full comparison
- Olitt
Pro Website Builder
Read the full comparison
- Hostinger
AI Builder
Read the full comparison
- Wix
Aria
Read the full comparison
- IONOS
MyWebsite Now
Read the full comparison
- Framer
AI Site Builder
Read the full comparison
- WordPress.com
Hosting
Read the full comparison
More roundups
Questions this table answers
Why does Squarespace's renewal cell say “not disclosed”?
Because its pricing page publishes no second rate: there is no struck price and no “then $X” on the cards, so the year-two cost cannot be read off the page and we do not compute one. The cell records what the vendor prints, which is nothing.
What does “not disclosed” mean in the rest of the table?
It means the vendor does not print that number on its own pricing page. We read each pricing page and record what it prints; where it prints nothing, the cell says so. Nothing in the table is estimated, and no two-year total is worked out for a vendor that never published a second rate.
Where do I get the full picture for one builder?
Each name in the table links to that builder's own comparison page, where the renewal ladder, the domain terms and the hidden costs are broken out one by one. This page is the wide view; those are the deep ones.