Wix alternatives — 12 builders side by side on what year two costs
Leaving a builder is a pricing decision before it is a design decision. Below, Wix sits beside the builders a reader would actually weigh against it: the entry rate, the renewal rate, whether the domain is included, and whether the renewal is printed on the pricing page or only discovered at checkout. Every figure was read from the vendor's own page, on the date shown in its row.
- 12
- builders compared
- 6
- publish a renewal rate
- 4
- print the renewal in advance
- 9
- include a free first-year domain
How to read the table
| Builder | Entry price | Renewal price | Renewal step | Domain, year 1 | Renewal printed in advance? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WixAriaintro step, disclosedThe builder you are leaving | $14.5/mo (promo) | $29/mo | 2× | Included | Printed on the pricing page |
| SquarespaceFluid Engineno renewal rate published | $19.00/mo (Basic) / HK$129/mo (geo-served Asia) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| GoDaddyAiro Website Builderno renewal rate published | $9.99/mo (billed annually) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| WebflowVisual Designerflat rate — no step | $15.00/mo (Basic, billed yearly) / $25.00/mo (Premium, billed yearly) | $15.00/mo (Basic) / $25.00/mo (Premium) | 1× | Not included | Printed on the pricing page |
| ShopifyShopify Storefrontintro step, not disclosed | $1.00/mo (first 3 months promo) | $25.00/mo (annual) / $33.00/mo (monthly) | 33× | Not included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| HostingerAI Builderstep, but unclear where | $2.99/mo — 48-month prepay | $10.99/mo | 3.68× | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| IONOSMyWebsite Nowintro step, disclosed | $6/mo (12-mo term) | $14/mo | 2.33× | Included | Printed on the pricing page |
| FramerAI Site Builderintro step, not disclosed | $10/mo | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| Square OnlineWebsitesflat rate — no step | $49/mo (per location) | $49/mo | 1× | not disclosed | Printed on the pricing page |
| WordPress.comHostingintro step, not disclosed | $4/mo (1-yr) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| SITE123Website Builderintro step, not disclosed | $10.8/mo (annual, FAQ) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
| DurableAI Website Builderintro step, not disclosed | $22/mo (annual) | not disclosed | not disclosed | Included | Not printed on the pricing page |
Entry price is the rate the vendor prints for a new subscription — on an annual plan that is the monthly rate billed yearly. Renewal price is the vendor's own second number, and where the vendor prints none the cell says so. The step is the ratio between the two, printed only where both numbers were published. Domain is whether the entry plan carries a free domain for the first year. The last column is whether the vendor states the renewal on its own pricing page, before you buy.
How these rows were chosen
Our comparison set covers 51 builders whose pricing pages we read. These rows are the ones a reader leaving Wix is choosing between: the incumbents sold to the same buyer, the AI builders sold to the same buyer, and the ones whose renewal step is worth reading before you sign. Each name links to the full comparison we published for that builder.
Every builder in the table
- Wix
Aria
Read the full comparison
- Squarespace
Fluid Engine
Read the full comparison
- GoDaddy
Airo Website Builder
Read the full comparison
- Webflow
Visual Designer
Read the full comparison
- Shopify
Shopify Storefront
Read the full comparison
- Hostinger
AI Builder
Read the full comparison
- IONOS
MyWebsite Now
Read the full comparison
- Framer
AI Site Builder
Read the full comparison
- Square Online
Websites
Read the full comparison
- WordPress.com
Hosting
Read the full comparison
- SITE123
Website Builder
Read the full comparison
- Durable
AI Website Builder
Read the full comparison
More roundups
Questions this table answers
What does “not disclosed” mean in this table?
It means the vendor does not print that number on its own pricing page. We read each pricing page and record what it prints; where it prints nothing, the cell says so. Nothing in the table is estimated, and no two-year total is worked out for a vendor that never published a second rate.
Which of these builders keeps the same price at renewal?
The rows whose renewal price is the same figure as their entry price — the step reads 1×. We do not rank the table: the renewal column is there so you can sort it yourself, and the rows print in the order our comparison index lists them.
Where do I get the full picture for one builder?
Each name in the table links to that builder's own comparison page, where the renewal ladder, the domain terms and the hidden costs are broken out one by one. This page is the wide view; those are the deep ones.